EP 27.4 : “because you’re beautiful, drop dead.”


Fundamental Contemporary Pop premise #celebrityschadenfreude

Illustration by Speckled Sydney

If all I cared about was me, I could make a million. And that’s what they will never understand.

“It’s not that I’m rebelling. It’s that I’m just trying to find another way.”

I think something very weird’s going on now, ’cause the power that is permitted to youth is quite extraordinary. And they are sort of run by that kind of power.

“It’s sort of like a mockery in a way of reality because they think everything is smiles and sweetness and flowers when there is something bitter to taste. And to pretend there isn’t is foolish.”

Something very strange happened. I didn’t realize I was going to say it, and I said, out loud, “I wish I was dead.”

blinkkme:</p><br /><br />
<p>Ladies and gentlemen, I’ve got a little story to tell…<br /><br /><br />
#shestheoriginaldoll<br /><br /><br />

And the reason I said it was the love and the beauty and the ecstasy of the whole experience was really an alien experience in a way, because I didn’t even know him. It was a one-night jag. He was married and had children, and I just felt really, like, lost. It just wasn’t worth living anymore because I was all alone again.

“The nearly incommunicable torments of speed, buzzerama, that acrylic high, horrorous, yodelling, repetitious echoes of an infinity so brutally harrowing that words cannot capture the devastation nor the tone of such a vicious nightmare.”

You have to put up with the risk of being misunderstood if you are going to try to communicate. You have to put up with people projecting their own ideas, attitudes, misunderstanding you. But it’s worth being a public fool if that’s all you can be in order to communicate yourself.

“While I was girl of the year and superstar and all that crap, everything I did was really… motivated by psychological disturbance. But I’d, I’d make a mask out of my face because I didn’t realize… I was quite beautiful …

… I had to wear heavy black eyelashes like bat wings and dark lines under my eyes. Cut all my hair off, my long dark hair, cut it off and strip it silver and blond. All these little manoeuvres I did out of things that were happening in my life that upset me. I’d freak out in a very physical way, and… it was all taken in a fashion trend.”

The way those sons-of-bxxches took advantage of me.

“I can understand other people’s situations in their own terms, but I still can’t understand mine.”

In the year 2000 you’re going to have a problem… Leisure time will be a problem in the year 2000. I just want you to realise, I just want to make sure that you know of it now.

“Why do people stop developing?… from being children to maybe stopping at a very adolescent age, and they stay there until they die. Physically die. I mean, they react adolescently. They don’t change. They don’t develop. They don’t – it’s that continual read, that process which is, is the total threat for the ego.”

You live alone, creating your life as you go.

#radar

“She was staggeringly beautiful. You kind of wanted to help her… she drew upon your sympathies like that. When she walked into the room, everyone was on-point … I think at that point, she was ostracized.”

re:ply

